World Shapers – Board and Dice – Review

0
394


Facebook


Twitter


Instagram

It is a small box game that packs a big punch, so please don’t let the size of the box fool you. There is plenty of game found in World Shapers and you will want to give it a try.

Ben

8.5/10

Publisher: Board & Dice


Designer: Mariusz Milewski


Artist:Paweł Niziołek, Jarosław Wajs


Game Type: Card Drafting, Set Collection


Initial Year of Release: 2019


Age Range: 10+


Expected Playtime: 30


Number of Players: 1-4

World Shapers - Board and Dice - Review 1

Theme and What is it?


Facebook


Twitter


Instagram

8.5/10

The power of creation is in your hands. You take the four basic elements and start the process of shaping. This new world will become whatever you want it to be. You have control of the shaping and will make the choices that will eventually lead to a new planet. World Shapers is a card drafting game for 2-4 players

World Shapers - Board and Dice - Review 2
World Shapers - Board and Dice - Review 3

Gameplay Mechanics


Facebook


Twitter


Instagram

8.5/10

Four element tokens (air, earth, fire, water) are laid between players. Each player receives two power crystals. The deck of cards is shuffled and three cards are set out creating the pool. After this, each player is dealt five or six cards depending on player count. 

All turns happen simultaneously. Here is the turn order:

  1. 1.Select 1 card from hand and lay it face down in front of you. Once all players have laid down a card, all cards are flipped at once.
  2. 2.Players choose to do one of the following: place the card in their collection, or exchange their card with a card from the pool, or discard the card and gain a power crystal.
  3. 3.Each player can place a power crystal on a card to enhance it.
  4. 4.The unused cards are passed to the player on the left.

After 2 or 3 rounds, again depending on player count, the game ends and final scoring takes place. The player with the highest creation points total wins!

World Shapers - Board and Dice - Review 4

Initial Impressions


Facebook


Twitter


Instagram

8.5/10

World Shapers was very easy to learn. I had a game going in just a few minutes. The rules are straightforward. During our first game, we did spend extra time looking at card options because many cards offer unique options. Since it is a draft, you really need to understand what you are keeping and also what you may be giving away.

Even though we were taking our time figure out the cards, the game still moved at a great pace. Everyone takes their turn at the same time so there is almost no down time for anyone unless you are waiting for someone to draft their card.

I really enjoyed the game and found lots of room for strategy and depth.

World Shapers - Board and Dice - Review 5

Game Build Quality


Facebook


Twitter


Instagram

8.5/10

Everything inside the box was above industry standard. I feel that the publisher went above and beyond with all the components. There are not many components but what is there was all fantastic. The box is well constructed and the insert is well thought out. You shouldn’t have any issues with quality.

World Shapers - Board and Dice - Review 6

Artistic Direction


Facebook


Twitter


Instagram

8.5/10

World Shapers looks great. From the box artwork to the cards. There is a cohesive quality that keeps all the elements tied together to create a uniform experience. The art allows players to be in the moment. You really do feel like you are shaping a new world. 

World Shapers - Board and Dice - Review 7

Fun Factor


Facebook


Twitter


Instagram

8.5/10

This game has many elements that I like. Card drafting. Variable card powers. Strong two player potential. I have enjoyed two player games more than three or four players. The way that World Shapers is laid out allows for it to be a strong two player game. It doesn’t play any worse as a three or four player game because turns are simultaneous, it just feels very natural as a two player. 

I also really enjoyed the card interactions. There are lots of ways to combo off of cards to increase point totals. I also loved that the 2-dimensional layout actual plays like a circular globe. The two columns on the outside of the setup are actually connected to each other and the cards on those columns interact with each other just as if they were adjacent to each other. It totally blows up the 2D viewpoint that you see when looking at the setup. 

World Shapers - Board and Dice - Review 8

Age Range & Weight


Facebook


Twitter


Instagram

8.5/10

Recommended age range is 10+. I believe that is a very realistic evaluation. I can see my ten-year-old keeping up with this game but there is no way that my seven-year-old would be able to visualize what he should be doing to have a chance. 

World Shapers - Board and Dice - Review 9

Conclusions


Instagram


Twitter


Facebook

8.5/10

World Shapers gets my trifecta of awesomeness award! Awesome game play, amazing components and stellar artwork. With these powers combined, we are…! You get where I am going with that, right? Captain Planet…World Shapers. Planet = World.  Anyways, World Shapers is a really solid game and I give it extra marks for being a great two player game.

It is a small box game that packs a big punch, so please don’t let the size of the box fool you. There is plenty of game found in World Shapers and you will want to give it a try.

  • All

World Shapers - Board and Dice - Review 10

Ravnica: Inquisition by WizKids – Review

Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
Ravnica Inquisition is a strong entry into the social deduction/hidden identity genre. …

World Shapers - Board and Dice - Review 11

Quiver – Accessory – Review

How many small games do you have?
I used to feel the need …

World Shapers - Board and Dice - Review 12

Zappenduster – Leuchtmemo – Review

Publisher: Leuchtmemo
Game Type: Memory, Sensory Deprivation
Designer: Alexander Kranz-Mars
Initial Year of Release: 2018
Artist: …

World Shapers - Board and Dice - Review 13

Rick & Morty: The Pickle Rick Game – Cryptozoic – Review

Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
“What a cool packaging idea! It’s a novelty display item and game …

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here